Hi! I’m Liselle

About

Liselle Sambury Circle Crop Headshot credit to Stuart W

Liselle Sambury is a Trinidadian-Canadian author who writes genre-blended speculative fiction with dark themes, complicated families, and edges of hope. Her debut novel Blood Like Magic garnered multiple starred reviews and is a Governor General’s Literary Awards Finalist, and its sequel Blood Like Fate was called “A worthy follow-up to a stellar debut,” by Kirkus. Her most recent novel, Delicious Monsters, a Barnes & Noble YA Pick, explores what it means to be haunted by more than the dead. In her free time, she shares helpful tips for upcoming writers and details of her publishing journey on her YouTube channel dedicated to demystifying the sometimes complicated business of being an author.

She’s represented by Kristy Hunter at The Knight Agency.

Tender Beasts book cover by Liselle Sambury - Illustrated by Elena Masci Designed by Greg Stadnyk

Coming Soon…

 

After her private school is rocked by a gruesome murder, a teen tries to find the real killer and clear her brother’s name in this psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Taking of Jake Livingston and Ace of Spades.

For fans of my books with complicated family dynamics and dark secrets!

☕ Family secrets and drama
🤝🏾 Dual POV: modern day & the 90s
🥛😱 “The Milk Man”
🇨🇦 Set in Toronto, ON
🔪 High stakes murder mystery

Books

Cover of Blood Like Magic, Black girl with natural hair out, crop top and jeans, and purple and pink smoke, says Blood Like Magic by Liselle Sambury with blurb from Tracy Deonn

Blood Like Magic

Available Now

Sixteen-year-old Voya Thomas is given the impossible task of either killing her first love or losing her family’s magic forever.

the cover of Blood Like Fate which is a Black girl in a white dress, with thick naturally curly hair in a half up style with white hair pins, and a small scar on her chest

Blood Like Fate

Available Now

Voya deals with the fallout from the impossible task she was given in Blood Like Magic, and encounters an even greater danger.

Delicious Monsters by Liselle Sambury book cover

Delicious Monsters

Available Now

Seventeen-year-old Daisy Odlin must confront the figurative and literal ghosts of her mother’s past when they inherit a mansion in northern Ontario.

Tender Beasts book cover by Liselle Sambury - Illustrated by Elena Masci Designed by Greg Stadnyk

Tender Beasts

Coming out on Feb 27, 2024

Sunny Behre’s family reputation is on the line when her brother is accused of murder. They’ll have to find the real killer, but she isn’t so sure of her brother’s innocence.

Upcoming Events

March 23, 2024 @ TBA

Teen Book Con • In Person

I’ll be attending the Teen Book Con, more information to come soon! TeenBookCon is a free one-day event where we bring in some of the hottest YA authors to speak on panel sessions. Teens (and grown-ups) can sit in on panels throughout the day, ask questions of the authors, grab lunch from one of the food trucks, check out some of the public library booths, and grab some TeenBookCon swag! 

Location: Houson, TX